Curry Chicken Salad Sandwich

Curry Chicken Salad

Well, I had leftover chicken in the fridge and decided to whip up something I haven’t made since 2015 — curry chicken salad. I think the last time was as an appetizer for a party or something. This time, it’s just me, myself, and I…eating an open-faced curry chicken salad sandwich. I am not sure why I didn’t follow my old recipes, but this turned out very moist because I used mayo. In my previous recipes I just used dijon, ketchup, and curry powder, which yielded a dryer chicken (albeit, very tasty and flavorful). This time, I used all four ingredients. The mayo makes the curry powder very mild — great for those that want something subtle. So, depending on what you’re craving, you can get a subtle or heavily warm-spiced chicken with crunchy celery and red butter leaf lettuce bites atop a whole grain multi-seed bread. You can also adapt this for the keto diet by making them into chicken curry lettuce cups (sans the toasted bread). Here’s my recipe with the optional ingredient of mayo and diced apples (this adds a nice sweetness, but I didn’t have any on hand this time):

Chicken Salad

2 chicken thighs or 2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded

¼ C curry powder / sweet curry powder

¼ C ketchup

3 celery, stalks and stems diced

1 T dijon mustard (any mustard will do)

3 T mayo (optional)

1 small apple, diced (optional)

s&p to taste

  1. Mix all ingredients in a mixing bowl to thoroughly combine. Refrigerate to allow flavors to meld (better the next day, but still can be eaten immediately!).  Serve over toasted bread or optionally, in lettuce cups (forgoing starches).
Leave a Reply

