Chicken Fried Rice

Chicken fried rice

I love using up leftovers and cleaning out the fridge. Fried rice is a great way to use The “kitchen sink” ingredients were:

– White rice from a Japanese restaurant
– My own Hainanese style jasmine and wild rice blend
– My own Hainanese chicken
– 1/4 green cabbage
– A few sprigs of cilantro
– A few cuttings of green onions
– An opened package of already peeled garlic cloves
– Chicken fat from my chicken stock

A few additions to my fried rice:

  • Mixed frozen vegetables
  • 1 yellow onion
  • Oyster sauce
  • Tamari sauce
  • Sesame oil
  • 3 eggs, scrambled with a dash of sesame oil

This ended up tasting very similar to Chinese restaurant style fried rices which I think is because I used quite a bit of chicken fat to flavor everything. It makes everything taste amazing and the mouth feel is oily (I know that doesn’t sound good, but it is!) and chewy rather than dry. There was so much of everything that I had to cook in two cast iron skillets and then I combined them all into one at the end (pictured in this post). It was piled mountain high! 😀

 

Leave a Reply

