Build-Your-Own: Taco, Burrito, or Mexican Plate Party

20170902_165528

We had a super hot weekend where it got into the hundreds on the Peninsula… these old houses don’t have air conditioning either! 😦 It was poor timing to schedule a family get together in conjunction with the heat, but it seemed like the only weekend that family could get together to catch up. So I held a party. We ended up hanging out outside, which worked out well.

The party was also a good excuse to use up my 45 homegrown tomatoes (for so many people). So I ended up doing a Mexican build-your-own buffet. My tomatoes ended up going into fresh salsa and my chicken tinga sauce.

20170830_171814

20170902_164910

My chafing dishes arrived on the day of the party as well, which was nice to use, but super last minute! The burners and half-sized hotel pans did not come in time, but I was able to keep everything nice and warm or cold by utilizing the hotel pans beneath (i.e. adding ice or adding boiling water and pre-heating in the oven) and make do without the smaller hotel pans.

Below is my spanish rice, some flour tortillas (from a bag), and black beans that were soaked overnight and cooked with bay leaves, oregano, cumin, garlic, onion powder, s&p.

20170902_164920

My condiments/fixings/toppings were easy to put together a day in advance and pull out straight from the fridge. I had cilantro, sliced radishes, shredded cabbage, homemade salsa, homemade guacamole, sour cream, limes, and mixed cheese. Next time I will put ice around the condiments to fill in the gaps, but it kept pretty well nonetheless! It was such a stress-free party, unlike the other ones I’ve hosted where I’m cooking to the very last minute so everything can stay hot. These chafing dishes will definitely be used for when I host Thanksgiving this year! 😛

20170902_164932

Inside peak at the condiments:

20170902_164935

 

Leave a Reply

