Roasted Red Pepper and Corn Chowder

Roasted red pepper and corn chowder

I got inspired from a recent trip to Sedona, Arizona and Southwestern cuisine at a restaurant called Hudson. Their chowder was so good I had to go back a second time to order it. However, consistency among the two days and two dishes that I had ordered (butternut squash ravioli and the corn chowder) were not there. The second time I had the two dishes were completely disappointing! šŸ˜¦ I’m going to chalk it up to a different BoH working staff…

In any case, I came home anxious to try to make my own. My chowder ended up being much brighter and less spiced; however, still good. I cheated with canned corn and canned green chilies, but you can replace with fresh (which I’m sure is better). My recipe below:

Roasted Red Bell Peppers and Corn Chowder

3 red bell peppers, broiled until charred

3 small fingerlings, cooked (sauteed, boiled, roasted, etc)

1 Q Chicken stock

Ā½ carrot, shredded

1 onion, diced

1 can green chilies, rinsed

1-2 cans corn, rinsed

1 T Chili powder

6 Turns Black pepper

2 T Garlic powder

2 T Smoked paprika

1 T Paprika

1 T Oregano

1 t Turmeric, ground

1 t Cumin, ground

Worcestershire, dash

3 T Tomato sauce

Cayenne (to taste)

Cilantro, garnish

S&P

  1. After broiling bell peppers, remove the seeds and puree the meat with the cooked potatoes and enough chicken stock liquid to whirl in a blender/Vitamix.
  2. Saute onion, carrots, spices, tomato sauce, worcestershire, corn, green chilies in a large stock pot until fragrant. Add in bell pepper and potato puree and the remaining chicken stock. Bring to a boil. Allow to simmer on low until ready to serve. Adjust spices and s&p to taste.
Leave a Reply

