Chorizo Vegetable Soup

Beef stock vegetable soup

Alright, this is kind of a misnomer, since the meat in this soup/stew was chorizo, but the soup base is a homemade beef broth, where I simmered beef bones for 6+ hours.

This dish was inspired (again) by my trip to Sedona, AZ and a “chain” restaurant called Wildflower Bread Co. They made a beef and vegetable soup that I thought was pretty decent and I asked myself, “why haven’t I made more beef vegetable soups???” I always tend to make chicken broth based soups since I tend to have chicken stock on hand, and beef broth just takes so long to make, plus the bones can be pretty expensive — SO that’s my reason for not making more beef broth based soups! This ended up being “sOUper” delicious because the gelatin in the beef broth provided a nice coating and and mouthfeel. šŸ˜€

Originally, I had this idea to make a minestrone, with a beef broth, so this is kind of a hybrid soup between my original “Jose Romano” soup and whatever I call this….let’s just say:

Chorizo Vegetable SoupĀ 

2 small onions, diced

2-3 small celery stalks, diced

1.5 carrots, diced

Garlic powder

1 can diced tomatoes

1 Q beef stock

4 chorizo sausage, quarter-dice

1 can cannellini beans

1/4 spinach

Ā¼ bag frozen green beans

Ā¼ C Creole seasoning blend

Worcestershire

1 C red lentils

4 yukon gold potatoes, medium diceĀ 

s&p

  1. Saute mirepoix and chorizo with garlic and spices, deglaze with worcerstershire and beef stock. Bring to a boil and add potatoes to cook.
  2. Once potatoes are cooked, add spinach, green beans, and cannelini beans. Allow to simmer on low until ready to serve.
Leave a Reply

