1-hour Pork Ribs

Pork ribs potato salad zucchini

My mom had bought a rack of pork ribs that she wanted me to grill, but I felt lazy to do so. 😛 Instead, I went with my pressure cooker and broiler, which I feel is faster and guarantees tender, melt-in-your-mouth, ribs. All in all, it took me about an hour and a half to make this whole dish, including the yukon gold potato salad (hard boiling eggs, boiling potatoes, dressing: mayo, dijon, white vinegar, dill, s&p, paprika, pickles, pickle juice, green onions) that was nice and cold (ice bath and freezer usage…) by the time of serving at the hour and a half point! Notice, my zucchini was prepared for the grill, but I ended up parboiling it in the pork stock liquid after my ribs were done (30 minutes) due to shear laziness…though one cannot argue that it lacked flavor! 😉 Here’s a messier, but super tasty dinner photo:

Pork ribs potato salad zucchini 2

Some people argue that pressure cooking the ribs releases much of the flavor into the water. I don’t disagree, but it’s not like I’m wasting that liquid! It’s currently sitting in my freezer, waiting to be made into a soup…perhaps a pork blood noodle soup… ^_-

To prepare the ribs, I rubbed some dry seasoning (some pre-made spice thing that was given to us as a gift that I just need to use up before I make my own) all over and pressure cooked it. The seasoning was mainly garlic and black pepper, in case you need to throw something together. After the ribs were done, I placed them on a rack on a baking sheet to broil it and char the meat for 20 minutes. I’m not sure if this was  absolutely necessary, but it added a textural component to it. I’d do it again in a heartbeat. After getting the char on the meat, I brushed on some bbq sauce (again, some pre-made sauce that was given to us as a gift set). I then broiled it, probably another 10 minutes until the sugars caramelized on top.

Here are the ribs out of the broiler:

1 hr Pork ribs

I need to make ribs more often! 😀

 

Leave a Reply

