Jook: rice and chicken porridge

Jook

Jook. AKA rice congee. AKA rice porridge.

My sister was sick the other day so my mom made a batch of Jook for her. Although, I ended up eating like 4 bowls in one sitting… it was addictive! 😛

I then got inspired to make it at home with my freshly roasted chicken dark meat, fond, stock, and fat. To that, I added garlic powder and fresh ginger chunks (because I can’t seem to get enough of ginger). I used a ratio of 1 cup of rice to 8 cups of water, bringing it to a boil then turning it down to a medium heat and allowing it to simmer for 1.5 hours, with everything but the chicken meat (add cooked meat toward the end of the 1.5 hours). My mom makes it more like risotto, using less water initially and adding more in as it boils down. It probably makes for a creamier texture, but this was my first time making it so next time I will try that. In any case, mine turned out like creamy, thick, “oatmeal.” 😛

It was good timing to make this rice soup since I ended up catching what my sister had! 😦 Will most likely make another batch…as I’m sure this is all I will be able to eat in the next couple of days while I try to recover!

 

Leave a Reply

