Tortilla de patatas, leeks and swiss chard stems

Tortilla de patatas, leeks and stems

One of my favorite things to make is breakfast. I also love using up leftover ingredients in the fridge. And breakfast is the greatest opportunity to use up leftovers in the kitchen. I finally used up all the swiss chard stems and leeks in this dish. So if you’re tired of seeing leeks and stems, this should be it for awhile. 😛

The major difference in this dish versus my previous ones is that I I sautéed my potatoes in chicken fat and when that was done, I set it aside and sautéed my leeks and swiss chard stems in more chicken fat and chicken fond/gravy (from my roast chicken night). So this is packed with yummy flavor. I don’t know why I haven’t saved more awesome chicken fat to cook with, but I will going forward. I even used it to cook up more brussels sprouts last night and it was the best brussels sprouts main course ever. Everything is just better with chicken fat and drippings! 😛

Leave a Reply

