Homemade Strawberry Raspberry Preserve

Pb&j

This is another one of those, “I-can’t-believe-I’ve never-made-this-before” posts. 😛 It’s a simple preserve to make. I was inspired by the fact that I had to use up some fruits that had been sitting in the fridge for a week. 😛

Homemade Strawberry Raspberry Preserve

Here is my recipe:

  • 16 oz / one container of strawberries, stems removed and strawberries quartered or halved (depending on size)
  • 6 oz container of raspberries
  • 1 meyer lemon, zested
  • 1/2 meyer lemon, juiced
  • 2 C bakers sugar

I carefully mixed the fruit and lemon sugar in a bowl and allowed it to sit at room temp for 2 hours to incorporate. After two hours, I strained the liquid through a colander over a stainless steel pot and brought it to 220 degrees. Once it hit 220 degrees, I added the cut fruit and allowed it to boil further until it was syrupy and thick.

I tried my homemade preserve on a peanut butter and “jelly” sandwich and it was delicious. I am now thinking about other fruits that I can turn into preserves…maybe some cara cara oranges next? 😛

 

Leave a Reply

