Better-than-box: Japanese-style Chicken Curry

Chicken curry

Voila!

This is it!

I am so excited! I can now replace the MSG and artificial coloring of the S&B Golden Curry box with a homemade, from scratch recipe that doesn’t make me feel weird afterward! 😀

Quick Rant: S&B’s highly popularized Golden Curry ingredient list is: “Wheat flour, edible oils (palm oil, canola oil), salt, sugar, curry powder, spices, caramel color, monosodium glutamate (flavor enhancer), malic acid.” Caramel color = artificial coloring. For what purpose? If you’re using real spices, you’ll have all-natural coloring. In any case, whatever is actually in their ingredients ends up making me feel sick afterward. I don’t trust the brand.

On the flip side, I am happy to report that anyone can make a flavorful Japanese-style curry without the box stuff. It just requires a few ingredients…

Chicken breasts and thighs, onions, celery, carrots, potatoes, leeks, all purpose flour, raisins or dried cranberries, cumin, coriander, chili, cinnamon, cloves, mustard, black pepper, nutmeg, cardamom, garlic, turmeric, ginger, onion, chili powder, black pepper, cloves, paprika, fennel seeds (ground), dry mustard, cayenne, allspice, worcestershire, soy sauce, beef stock, chicken stock.

…What? Okay, maybe a lot of ingredients! 😛 And probably why most people reach for the boxed stuff. I get it. People like convenience.

Personally, I am thrilled to have finally made a Japanese-style curry dish that is hearty, rich, and flavorful, without a pre-packaged box. I may have to spend more time prepping my spice ingredients, but it’s actually quite simple since I can blend them together in advance and put them in an airtight jar until I’m ready to use it. While I don’t have the exact measurements for my recipe this time (since I adjusted per my taste buds), I will make it again in the future and post! In the meantime, someone else can experiment with quantities and let me know. 😉

Leave a Reply

