Quad-colored Popcorn

Farmer's Market Popcorn (4 varieties)

I picked up four types of popcorn at the Ferry Building Farmers Market yesterday. I decided to pop them all at the same time, thinking I could recognize them afterward. Strangely, they don’t look and taste very different once they are cooked! Especially the blue corn. I was a bit disappointed that they aren’t very distinguishable from one another; however, they are beautiful in the raw.

I seasoned with parmesan, grapefruit zest, kosher salt, smoked paprika, and cayenne pepper. Yeah, sounds a little weird — it kind of tastes like fruit loops cereal…O_o I think it might be due to the grapefruit zest! I had run out of lemons to zest so I thought I would just substitute with grapefruit…there may be a time and place for grapefruit zest, but I’m not so sure it worked very well with the rest! 😛

Farmer's Market Popcorn

Leave a Reply

