Tortilla de patatas: swiss chard, mustard greens, and kale

Tortilla de patatas: swiss chard, mustard greens, and kale (top side)

I struggled with adapting this recipe from a traditional tortilla de patatas. The purity and authenticity of an old school recipe is important to me. However, every time I make a change to this recipe, I feel like I’m bastardizing the original. The original is tasty and I could eat it all by myself; however, it suffers from being one note.

Tortilla de patatas: swiss chard, mustard greens, and kale

As I started to prep the standard ingredients of potatoes, onions and eggs, I felt conflicted and knew I needed to commit to adapting or keeping the same. Isn’t this what we struggle in life with anyway? So I started chiffonading swiss chard, mustard greens, and red kale to add to my sautéed onions, leeks, and garlic. This is what you see as the top of the tortilla de patatas. The swiss chard turns everything pink. The onions add a pleasant sweetness and slight crunchiness to counterbalance the softness and bitterness of mustard greens and kale in every bite. Leeks add a subtly nuttiness to the layered potatoes and eggs.

Tortilla de patatas: swiss chard, mustard greens, and kale (bottom side)

After tasting this dish with all the modifications, I can say that I will commit to adapting this recipe more in the future, for the sole reason being that it’s more delicious than the original and has more vegetables than just your standard potatoes. There’s nothing wrong with wanting something simple and one note, but when your fridge is stocked with lots of in-season goodies, it’s hard not to get inspired and adapt recipes to your own liking.

Tortilla de patatas: swiss chard, mustard greens, and kale (slice)

One thought on “Tortilla de patatas: swiss chard, mustard greens, and kale

Leave a Reply

