Travel Inspired: Pappardelle Ragu

2016-01-14 19.48.51
On part of my Michigan trip last year we went up to Traverse City (near the pinky of the mitten), and were fortunate enough to eat at some awesome restaurants. Transplant any of the places we ate at to California and they would fit right in. A couple of places we ate at had housemade pasta and tasty ragu. I am such a sucker for housemade pasta that I always have to get it wherever I go. Feeling inspired by what I had, I decided to re-create it back home. I’ve done this dish a couple of times before, so nothing too new, but I wanted to hone my recipe a bit more.

Pappardelle (pasta dough)

1# semolina

1.25# 00 flour

6 egg yolks

3 whole eggs

2 T olive oil

pinch & a half of kosher salt

  1. Mix with food processor. Knead until smooth and elastic. Rest overnight.
  2. Sheet through kitchen aid attachments or roll out with a rolling pin. Cut into wide strips. Freeze on a baking sheet lined with a silicon mat. Containerize and store in the freezer until ready to use.

Ragu (meat sauce)

1 C diced onions

1 C diced carrots

2 cans diced tomatoes

1 can tomato sauce

2 T italian seasoning

1 ½ # variety of italian sausage, no casing (from Luccas on Valencia)

1 C red wine

¾ Q chicken stock

s&p

 

Leave a Reply

