Homemade ketchup / bbq sauce

Homemade ketchup

Something so easy and I haven’t done it up until now…ketchup! Commercial ketchup has high fructose corn syrup — an ingredient I am avoiding. Here is my recipe, a conglomeration of many different recipes put together:

Ketchup

1 15 ounce can tomato sauce
1 15 ounce can of roasted tomatoes
½ C h20 (to wash out the cans)
⅓ C light brown sugar
⅓ C + 1 T of white vinegar
1 t molasses
1 t table salt
½ t garlic powder
½ t onion powder
¼ t cayenne pepper
¼ t paprika
⅛ t celery salt
⅛ t ground mustard
⅛ t ground cloves
¼ t smoked paprika (too smokey….put in BBQ sauce instead)
3 turns of freshly ground black pepper

Little did I realize that many of these ingredients should be in a BBQ sauce instead. Luckily, I was going to turn some of this into a bbq sauce anyway so it helped expedite the process. For my doctoring up of my already-made-ketchup-bbq-sauce-thing, I added the following:

BBQ sauce
2 C ketchup
1 t liquid smoke (next time use 1 Tablespoon, needs more smokeyness)
½ C light brown sugar
¼ C apple cider vinegar

One thought on “Homemade ketchup / bbq sauce

Leave a Reply

