Dehydrated chicken stock

Dehydrated chicken stock

This is what 2 1/2 cups of chicken stock gets you when you dehydrate. Very cool and interesting — I poured the liquid onto a ceramic dish (because I am trying to not use anything with teflon or plastics when heating foods) and it worked very well. This dehydrated in 12 hours on 165 degrees. The flavor is super concentrated and I can pulverize the brittle pieces to make it like chicken bouillon. The goal of this test was to see if this would be reasonable to make, package, and bring on my backpacking trips instead of instant noodle/msg and preservative laden soup bases. Ideally, I’d like to make my own noodles, vegetables and fixings and pair it with my own stock or broth with seasonings. I think this will definitely work and am excited to 1) see how long this lasts for/shelf life and 2) rehydrate and use!

Leave a Reply

