35 minute pork back ribs (pressure cooker + oven)

35 minute pork back ribs

We just got a pressure cooker about a week ago and finally used it today. The photo above is successfully cooked, tender, fall apart, pork meat that was dry rubbed with a homemade mixture of spices, left overnight to marinate, and pressure cooked for 15 minutes on setting level 2. After the 15 minutes were up, I applied my homemade bbq sauce and placed it in a 400 degree oven to caramelize the sugars. I think if I had applied less sauce I could have finished it in exactly 30 minutes… In any case, it turned out super tender and tasty! I am not a huge fan of ribs, but I would make this again in a heartbeat because it was so easy and quick (granted, there was quite a little bit of prep time, but what isn’t prep heavy?). Shockingly good, I would make this for a party or gathering. See recipe below for dry rub:

Dry Rub
1 T cumin
1 T light brown sugar
1 ½ t paprika
1 ½ t smoked paprika
1 ½ t ground mustard
1 t celery salt
4 turns of freshly ground black pepper
½ t cayenne
1 t red pepper flakes
1 t table salt (ran out of kosher salt, next time use K.S. or sea salt)

For a side dish, I pressure cooked 2 large russet potatoes on setting level 2 for 15 minutes and tried to crispy up the skin in a 450 degree oven for another 15 minutes. It appeared that it wasn’t 100% cooked after 15 minutes in the pressure cooker. Next time I will try 20-25 minutes in the pressure cooker and maybe 5 minutes on a high broil in the oven.

Leave a Reply

