Grilled Indonesian chicken satay, corn, and soy vinegar chicken

grilled indonesian chicken satay, corn, and soy vinegar chicken

Surprisingly, this is my very first time grilling “all by myself” — with no help at any part of the process. Just me and the grill. Everything turned out very good and was amazingly easy.

I started off the charcoal briquettes in a chimney starter with some newspaper, and marshmallow fire starters. When they turned to ash, I poured my soaked mesquite wood chips evenly over the top of the coals and let that burn for a few minutes. Then, I added my corn — prepared Bobby Flay style, removing corn silk but keeping the husks on and brining them for 15 minutes before placing them on the grill. I also put my Indonesian chicken satay skewers on the grill and grilled them for 6 minutes a side. For the marinade, I used the following:

Indonesian chicken satay

3 T soy
2 T minced garlic
2 T ginger
2 T canola/peanut oil
2 tsp coriander/pinch tandoori* seasoning
1 pinch cumin
1 pinch of turmeric
2 T ketchup/tomato paste (add vinegar if using tomato paste)

  1. Cut meat into squares.
  2. Soak skewers for 30 minutes.
  3. Marinate meat for 15 min.
  4. Skewer thigh/breast meat.
  5. Grill for 6 min on each side.

For the whole chicken thighs, I used the following marinade:

Soy Ginger Garlic Rice wine vinegar chicken

2 T soy
2 T ginger ground
2 T garlic minced
2 T rice wine vinegar
1 T white vinegar
1 T oyster sauce
1 T canola/peanut oil
1/2 C brown sugar

Marinade meat for 15 minutes and grill 6 minutes on each side or until internal temp reaches 165.

Leave a Reply

