Kimchi

Kimchi

I made my first batch of homemade kimchi on 4/25 and it turned out awesome! I containerized them into mason jars covered with a cheesecloth and rubber band. This was made with pure wild yeast, none added. By the fourth day of fermenting and sitting out, it was a nice balance of sweet, sour, and spicy. I put it in the fridge and gobbled it up within a week! My second batch of kimchi is fermenting right now and is definitely more potent than the first. I used some “starter” from my first batch to get the yeast going and kicked up with onion and spice level. I also added daikon for a textural variety. It didn’t taste ready at day four though, so I’m letting this go about a week or so before I pop them in the fridge. Will report when I make my third batch…

Leave a Reply

