Barbacoa beef and Spanish rice

Barbacoa beef and Spanish rice by pipsyq
Barbacoa beef and Spanish rice, a photo by pipsyq on Flickr.

I used Rick Bayless’ barbacoa seasoning packet for my bottom round roast. I simmered it on low for 3 hours with roasted garlic, yellow onions, liquid smoke, and the seasoning. For the Spanish rice, I sauteed the rice in oil until lightly browned, then added chopped onions, tomatoes, and garlic. After the veg was coated, I poured in homemade veg stock and chicken stock. I also added 1/2 T of minors chicken base, tomato paste, garlic powder, onion powder, s&p. I cooked the rice with a lid on for about 25 min on the stovetop. it turned out delicious!!

Leave a Reply

