Vegetable stock

Vegetable stock by pipsyq
Vegetable stock, a photo by pipsyq on Flickr.

Making my first vegetable stock with 5# of vegetable scraps I’ve been storing in ziploc freezer bags for the last couple of months. Vegetables include: parsley stems, red and green bell peppers, red and yellow onions, carrots, celery, asparagus ends, kale stems, tomatoes, leeks, red leaf lettuce, haricot verts, bay leaves, thyme sprigs, roasted garlic — including skins. I sauteed the veg in olive oil first, then poured in 1 gallon of cold water. It is now simmering on the stove until I feel like turning it off! πŸ˜› Afterward, I will strain the veg, cool in an ice water bath, containerize in sterilized mason jars, and freeze until I need them. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

