homemade ham and cheese croissants

Yes, that’s my floured counter top where I’ve been working all day on chinese dumplings, croissants, and cinnamon rolls!

I decided to make ham and cheese croissants because I wanted to see if I could do it from scratch and outside of our school’s kitchen. Lo and behold — these gigantic, shell-shaped edibles! In school, we usually take 3 days making these, including the day to bake; however, I was impatient and got this down to two days.

I madly messed up the lamination process as I couldn’t remember which direction I needed to roll the dough once I locked-in my roll-in butter. How did I know? Butter oozed out on the pan as it baked. Regardless, the croissants had many layers, precisely 10 (1 four-fold, 2 three-folds) which allowed it to become nice and flaky.

You can’t see it, but half of the inside is cooked and half of it is well, half-way there. I had to pull these early since they were super large and about to be burnt if left in the oven any longer. Next time I will make them smaller and stuff them less.

The recipe that I used is portioned down from the original recipe (conversion factor: .2) since I only had 3 sticks of butter and had to work with what I had. I also only had non-fat milk so I added a little bit of heavy cream to make up for the lack of fat (fat = flavor). This recipe should yield about 6-8 croissants, depending on how big or small you make them:

12.8 oz bread flour
1.4 oz sugar (baker’s sugar/superfine)
.15 oz yeast
.35 oz salt
9 oz milk
1.4 oz butter
8 oz roll-in butter

The process is long and arduous (can look up process elsewhere, or if I find time to explain one day, I will), but the size of the dough should be cut to 4″ x 9″ triangles. The thickness can be played around with a bit — up to 4mm (I think that’s what we used in our school’s kitchen).

Brush them with eggwash and ensure adequate proofing has occurred prior to baking. Bake at 400 degrees and watch them closely so they don’t burn.

A variation is to fill them with dark chocolate batons. 66% cacao seems to work, or you could just make plain ones with no filling at all. I personally find the plain ones too plain to eat and prefer filled croissants. It’s all about preference!

Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

