Thai yellow curry chicken

Thai yellow curry chicken by pipsyq
Thai yellow curry chicken, a photo by pipsyq on Flickr.

Tired of having my bf order me this dish at Osha Thai to satisfy my craving, so we bought the curry powder online at Amazon (mae ploy). Result: pretty darned tasty! I parboiled my 1 1/2 potatoes and 3 carrots, while sauteeing my sliced onions and shallots in oil. I added about 1 cup of homemade chicken stock to my onions and shallots, then the curry paste, 3/4 can of thick coconut milk, 1/2 can light coconut milk, 3 tablespoons of fish sauce, 1 tsp sugar a squeeze of lemon juice (didn’t have any limes on hand), put my sliced chicken breast in to cook, then added my tri-color bell peppers and salt to taste. To serve with — I made coconut rice (1/4 can light coconut milk, 1 Tablespoon thick coconut milk, and a pinch of salt) and just before eating, I garnished with lots of cilantro, since I’m a cilantro fanatic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

