fettucine “alla carbonara”

fettucine "alla carbonara" by pipsyq
fettucine "alla carbonara", a photo by pipsyq on Flickr.

Not your classic spaghetti alla carbonara, but tasty nonetheless. I whipped up some homemade pasta within an hour — from making the dough to cooking it (I was so hungry, needed to eat quickly, and couldn’t bare to use store bought pasta). My impatience made me speedy, putting the whole dish together within an hour. For the dough, I went with the following:

1/2 C 00 farina flour
1 C semolina flour
1 1/2 C bread flour
1/2 t salt
2 eggs
1 t olive oil
3/4 C water

My pasta dough was unconventional, to say the least, perhaps even insulting to Italian pasta elitists, but I ran out of 00 and needed to supplement. Since I am in no shortage of bread flour (with a 50lb bag), I experimented. The result: softer, more pliable noodles. Since I was in a hurry, I mixed all the ingredients in my food processor (dough blade attachment). I didn’t even bother kneading the dough as it clumped together. Instead, I wrapped it in plastic wrap and let it rest for 30 minutes before boiling. Quick and easy.

For the sauce, I roasted garlic and shallots in the oven for 40 minutes, then sauteed them in butter while cooking up my chicken sausage (last ones from our sausage making class!) in a pot of boiling water. I then transferred the sausage to the saute pan and got them browned. I also used about 1/2 cup of sausage water reserve to pick up the fond. Using the leftover, leftover — sausage water, I boiled my noodles for 2 minutes. In the meantime, I whisked together 2 eggs and 1 cup of parmesan cheese. When my noodles were done, I transferred them to my saute pan of sausage, frozen peas, garlic, and shallots. Removing the pan from the heat, I poured in my egg and cheese mixture, stirring constantly to make sure the eggs didn’t curdle.

Verdict: I’d make this again in a heartbeat.

Leave a Reply

