meatloaf #2

meatloaf #2 by pipsyq
meatloaf #2, a photo by pipsyq on Flickr.

I’ve never been a fan of meatloaf. Although, this week I was inspired by my morning lab class — crafting meatloaf sandwiches. Granted, the meatloaf was already made by our meat class, the sandwich itself was good: meatloaf, fried onion rings, pickles, melted cheddar cheese and housemade BBQ sauce on a french loaf. The meatloaf however, was a solid piece of meat that was underwhelming. So I decided that I’d make two meatloaves this weekend. The recipes I used were a combination of “1700 House meatloaf” and “Aunt Sally’s meatloaf.” I used a silicon mold for one loaf and hand patted the other one. I found that the hand patted one is much “airier” and lighter than the one that came out of a silicon mold. The one in the silicon mold ended up cooking for 60 minutes as opposed to 40 minutes. It’s got a spice kick and less dense than most compacted meatloaf, but more dense than my hand patted one. It turned out yummy and I am excited to use the leftovers for more sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

